Thursday, December 9, 2010

The 4 Different Kinds of Monopolies

The four kinds of monopolies are: Natural, Government, Geographical, and Technlogical.


Natural: Telephone lines or Airlines.
            (Hard to start own company)

Government: Postal System.
                  (Government created monopoly, competition is prohibited by law)

Geographical: Gas station in the middle of the Sahara desert
                   (Location effects potential profit, meaning people must go there for good/service)

Technological: Actual Transformers
                    (Company that makes something innovative has copyright or form of patent, 
                     they have a legal monopoly over all other competitors.)

No comments:

Post a Comment